twentybydesign

the life and times of a twenty year old designer

Helplessness Blues (New Music Mondays!)

leave a comment »

I almost forgot about New Music Mondays! Which would have been such a shame, because I’ve listened to this song almost fifty times in the last three days.

Yeah.

It’s that good.

Just. Just listen to it.

New Fleet Foxes single : “Helplessness Blues”

This track reminds me a lot of Steinbeck, East of Eden, and the sweeping American spirit. And it connects to the existential crisis our generation is facing. A lyrical sampling:

I was raised up believing
I was somehow unique
Like a snowflake distinct among snowflakes
Unique in each way you can see

And now after some thinking
I’d say I’d rather be
A functioning cog in some great machinery
Serving something beyond me

But I don’t, I don’t know what that will be
I’ll get back to you someday soon you will see

In a generation that has been raised to value individualism above all else, we may have forgotten the value of serving some great machine beyond ourselves. I don’t think the ache inside us all can be satisfied by individualism alone.

You can download it for FREE at www.fleetfoxes.com . I absolutely cannot wait to hear the new album.

Written by Taylor Webster

February 14, 2011 at 9:40 pm

Posted in Music

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

